October 2, 2023

Global News

…The News First With Us!

It’s Official: Ajimobi loses Senate election to PDP in Oyo

1 min read

Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Kola Balogun, has been declared the winner of the Oyo South senatorial district.

Mr Balogun saw off contest from his closest rival, Abiola Ajimobi, of the All Progressive Congress, with a vote difference of 13,502.

The PDP candidate ended the contest with a total of 105,720 votes while the candidate of the APC had 92,217 votes.

This declaration was made Monday morning by the returning officer of the district, Wole Akinsola, at the INEC collation centre office located in Ibadan  

In total, Mr Ajimobi won in three of the local governments in the senatorial district. Mr Balogun won the remaining six.

Mr Ajimobi won in Ibadan Southwest, Ibarapa Central and Ido.

Mr Balogun won in Ibadan North, Ibadan Northwest, Ibadan Northeast, Ibadan Southeast, Ibarapa North, Ibarapa East.

The incumbent senator representing the district, Soji Akanbi, who contested on the platform of ADC, finished behind the duo, in third place.

The results in the nine local governments of Oyo south senatorial district are as follows:

Ibadan North
ADC — 10, 202
APC — 17, 947
PDP — 18, 690

Ibadan Northwest
ADC — 5, 819
APC — 8, 916
PDP — 11, 293

Ibadan Northeast
ADC — 9, 524
APC — 9, 077
PDP — 14, 865

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.