September 27, 2023

Global News

…The News First With Us!


2 min read

Just as the gubernatorial election that will produce successor of Governor Ayodele Fayose in Ekiti State is around the corner, the politicking has started in earnest but the surprising thing about the gubernatorial race which is fast gathering momentum is the fact that Kayode Fayemi of all people is again nursing the ambition of returning to Ekiti government house come 2018.

Recall that Mr. Kayode Fayemi who ruled as Ekiti governor under the platform of the All Progressive Congress lost out to the incumbent Governor Peter Ayodele Fayose in the last gubernatorial election in the state and was duly compensated with a ministerial appointment by President Mohammad Buhari because he is very close to the latter and he’s still the current Minister for Solid Minerals.

However,according to our sources, Global News can now authoritatively report that Fayemi is currently begging the leadership of the state APC and other opinion leaders in the state in order to get the 2018 governorship ticket of the All Progressive Congress which, according to one inner source, is proving very difficult for him for a number of reasons.

Many of the state party executives are now openly saying Fayemi is behaving like a greedy and ruthless politician and thinks he is the only one in Ekiti State APC. And as he has fallen out of favour with the national leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the camp of the latter is now hell-bent on taking a pound of flesh for Tinubu who now sees Fayemi as a betrayal.

Moreover, as you read this, we gathered that there are about twenty-five other aspirants other than Fayemi who are interested in becoming the next governor of Ekiti State via the platform of APC, but according to sources, Fayemi is allegedly running from one party stalwart to the other and literally begging them with “everything” just to secure the party ticket.

Notable amongst these people vying for APC ticket in 2018 alongside Fayemi are Engr. Seun Oni, Senator Babafemi Ojudu, Hon. Opeyemi Bamidele, Senator Ayo Arise, Hon. Bimbo Dadramola, Dr Olu Oluyede, Mr. Yemi Adaramodu, Hon. Debo Ranti, Senator Gbenga Aluko, Dr. Adebayo Orire, Otunba Yinka Akerele, Dr. Femi Thomas, Chief Sesan Fatoba, Dr. Olu Oluyede and Chief Dele Okoya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.