The confusion trailing the All Progressives Congress governorship  primary election in Edo State continued on Sunday as Anamero Dekeri became the third aspirant to claim victory.

One Ojo Babatunde who said he was acting on behalf of all the local government returning officers, said that Dekeri polled 25,384 votes to beat Dennis Idahosa who polled 14,127 votes to second place.

Babatunde said, “Hon. Dekeri having met the requirements of the law and scored the highest valid votes cast have been declared winner of the election and returned elected.”

Dekeri is the member representing Etsako Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives.

A total of 12 aspirants were screened and cleared for the direct primary by the National leadership of the party, while three, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, Lucky Imasuen and Ernest Umakhihe withdrew before the election.

Meanwhile, Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State and Chairman of the primary election committee also declared  Idahosa winner of the exercise while the returning officer for the primary, Stanley Ugboaja, declared Senator Monday Okpebholo as the APC candidate.

However, thugs had earlier attacked the Lushville Hotel in Benin City where the returning officer, Stanley Ugboaja was announcing the results on Saturday afternoon which left many scampering for safety.

Four people were also injured in the process.

Before journalists could gather their things together, the thugs swooped on the venue after overpowering the police operatives at the gate.

Several journalists, including NTA cameraman and FRCN reporter were manhandled and their equipment damaged.